RSS

Blue Suede Shoes (Massimo Dutti)

10 May

Well, my shoes are not exactly suede.  But, they are blue and they are leather.  I was wandering around the mall before catching the last show of a movie and decided to browse around the Massimo Dutti store.  I’ve always been attracted by their window displays (Yes, men are very visual) of comfortable, yet sophisticated looking clothes.  Aimlessly, I stepped inside to while away the time.

Honestly, I no longer had any inclination to make a purchase as I already had a shopping bag full of books that would fill my bedside table with a reading pile good for a couple of weeks.  But, seeing the pair of blue nubuck leather sneakers (its called the “deportivo nobuck”) just made me drop all of my defenses.  It transported me back to my teenage years when my infatuation with suede and nubuck leather Cole Haan shoes began.  My vain attempt at walking out of the store proved useless as I just found myself walking into the other entrance.  Neither did it help that the last pair of large size shoes were a perfect fit.

With one, smooth, fluid motion, my credit card made it out of my wallet and into the hands of the sales person who had a huge smile on her face because she just made a sale right before closing.

I’ve had the shoes for a couple of months now.  As can be seen from the photo, they are well-worn.  These shoes just hug my feet.  I wear them with or without socks.  I prefer wearing them without socks as the leather is so soft and the texture feels great against my skin.  The nubuck is getting a bit worn down, but it just adds to its character.  I especially like the way the leather inner lining resembles the material of those deep, soft leather arm chairs that make one think of an african safari lodge or an english drawing room.

This is definitely one impulse purchase that I feel good about.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Blue Suede Shoes (Massimo Dutti)

  1. Vanessa Berenguer

    May 10, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Cute shoes! I like the vintage look of it 🙂
    Keep on blogging!

     
  2. Ces

    May 11, 2011 at 12:27 am

    Great article! Love this concept of fashion from a regular guy’s perspective.

     

Leave a Reply

 
